Post Play

Ask the coachCategory: OtherPost Play
Lance Heise asked 5 months ago

If a ball bounces off the top of the net post, is it out of bounds or inbounds and still playable?  Keep up the good work, Tom. Love your videos!



1 Answers
Tom Lodziak Staff answered 5 months ago

The net post is considered part of the playing area. So if a ball hits the net post and then is redirected on the table, it is a valid shot and the ball should be played.
 
It very rarely happens, but when it does, the player receiving the shot is so surprised, he/she usually messes up. It’s a really welcome bit of luck!